[Untitled]‎ > ‎

8 Days To Go To The 2013 South Senior Hurling Final

posted 19 Jul 2013, 08:25 by colm osullivan   [ updated 19 Jul 2013, 08:28 ]
8 Days To Go To The 2013 South Senior Hurling Final

#SouthFinalFacts: In 2008 Killenaule won the South Senior Hurling Championship. This was the last time The Robins lifted the cup and it completed a two in a row as Killenuale beat Ballingarry by 1 point to win the 2007 Championship. Mullinahone stopped Killenaule's three in a row bid in 2009. 

2008 was a year of mixed emotion for Carrick Swan. Under the guidance of Denis Byrne, we got our first win in the South Senior Hurling Championship since 2000 but failed to make the Semi-Finals of the competition. The match report of that win can be viewed in our new Match Report section which will be updated over the Winter to include as many past Swan matches as possible. 

After exiting the South Championship we regrouped under the guidance of Shane "Shiner" Ahearn and played for the inaugural Seamus O' Riain Cup. In the first round we disposed of Lorrha  in Boherlahan on a scoreline of 3-17 to 3-8. In the 1/4 Finals we beat Borris-Ileigh in New Inn on a scoreline of 2-20 to 0-15. Next up was another North Tipp team, Moneygall. This match was played in Littleton and Swan needed extra time to get over the line. Full-Time Score: 2-15 to 1-16. The final was played in Semple Stadium where Kilruane MacDonaghs were the opposition. Swan found themselves five points down at half time but recovered to win on a scoreline of 1-14 to 1-11.  

The match is available to view in full on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6y7AefSDF4

The team that day in Thurles was:
Carrick Swan: Colm O'Sullivan, John Walsh, Jamie Sweetman, Gerry Walsh (capt.), Martin Russell, Kevin Lanigan, John Grace, Stephen Hahessy (0-1), Darren Fahey, Alan O'Sullivan (0-1), Danny O'Hanlon (0-5), Kieran Reade (0-1), Paul Difily (0-1), Alan P. Ryan (0-2), Dwane Fogarty (1-3). Subs: Bobby Ryan for Alan P. Ryan, Raymond Dunne for Alan O'Sullivan. Also: Mark O'Halloran, Anthony O'Donnell, Brian Grace, Jamie Power, Shane Hogan, Aaron Walsh, William Lonergan, Darren Waters, Jamie Kennedy, Keith Walsh, Johnny Cahill.

Manager: M. J. Collins. Selectors: John Grace, Willie Hahessy, Sean O'Shea, Derek Hogan. Coach: Shane Ahearn.

2008 was an important year in the development of our current crop of seniors with a lot of them tasting senior success for the very first time. Lets hope we taste more success on July 27th in the 2013 South Senior Hurling Championship Final.